DMA - Composition

Doctor of Musical Arts


The program of study for the degree Doctor of Musical Arts (D.M.A.) in composition is divided into five areas: composition as the major field; a minor field of concentration; music history, theory, and literature; music in higher education; and research. The minor field may be selected from any of the Master of Music degree programs other than composition, or from the areas of music theory or musicology/ethnomusicology.

At least two consecutive semesters of full-time work (enrollment for a minimum of 20 hours of consecutive coursework included on the program of study) must be spent in resident study on the campus of the University of Georgia. Resident credit used to satisfy requirements for another degree cannot be used to satisfy the requirements for this degree.